Time to grief

Today is a day like no other. It was the last time I saw a dear colleague after she had been part of our team for almost two years now. Yesterday she handed her resignation later in haste and talked to me in private about her mother’s terminal condition.

I didn’t expect that her situation is already worse. The news made me sad and regretful. I remembered the journey that we had been through together. Those moments that I scolded her for not following instructions and sometimes for being too shy to ask. We had gone through a lot! We often had misunderstandings because we had different personalities. But what I appreciate about her is that she gave her best always when given the task despite her conditions.

I was having second thoughts of visiting her at home but I went anyway. I visited her mom despite not knowing how to give comfort nor have the words to say. I just knew I had to see them for the last time before they leave.

When I arrived, I was greeted by her mom’s warm smile. She thanked me sincerely for visiting her. She shed tears telling me how painful her back was. She told me her condition and how things went by. I tried to smile but tears kept falling on my cheeks as well.

We had a great conversation about her family, my colleague, and having faith in the Lord. And afterward, I offered prayers for her healing and safe journey as they go to her relatives somewhere in a different city.

I do not know when I will see them again but that last visit enabled me to accept the reality. I will surely miss her but hopefully this isn’t a good bye.

Leave a comment