A tribute to our dear Uncle Julian

One family reunion a few years back, I just got my CPA license and we were called in Uncle Julian’s home office. When my sister and I were inside, he took the time to share what he wanted to say. He told us how important it is for a family to stick together and help each other. After that, he gave me his calling card and told me that he once led the Lion’s Club and the Lee association of the Philippines or Long se. He would always convince us to join especially my dad. Afterwards, he told me that he is proud of me and said I was pretty like my grandmother.

I put the calling card inside my pocket and after I got home I forgot to put it out. When I was looking for it, the pants were already washed. I was so mad at myself for being forgetful enough not to remove it. But still I did not throw it away because it was a reminder for me that di chiak kong cared for us and treasured us like his own grand children.

survived the laundry

I am grateful to have known him as a person! His caring attitude is often exhibited when he would invite us for lunch. My grandfather’s house is next to his so it is so convenient to go! One time, I went with their side of the family to a mall nearby and he asked me if I need anything. I went home with a pair of sandals even though I did not say anything.

Uncle Julian, you will be missed but I know that I will see you in heaven!

Leave a comment