Monday musings: Sunshine after the rain

Hi there! It is still rainy in the Philippines. I must say that as the years go by I am less affected by the weather. It is such a sad state to see some people roaming around the streets with wet feet. More so, some people find shelter in side streets and does not have enough covering.

Our country is prone to experience typhoons maybe because of where we are geographically. Last year, Typhoon Nina directly hit the Bicol region, my home town. We thought it was just like an ordinary typhoon so we did not prepare that much. Normally, my parents and other relatives would install several used tarpaulins to prevent the wind and rain from entering our house and establishment. This time we did not because we were all busy in the business and we did not check the online news. Around 8 pm of Christmas day, we just had family dinner and are preparing to have karaoke when the electricity was cut off. The wind was heavy and there were thunderstorms. We did not mind. We thought it will just pass. We even played some games to substitute the karaoke.

game_ninja_chair_typhoon_Philippines.jpg

After a while, the water was gushing in the balcony. The rain was already entering a portion of our living room. I panicked! In my mind I regretted that we did not listen to my other relatives’ advice to prepare. We kept ourselves busy on that night trying to prevent the water from coming in. For some, the duty is to collect water that already went in.

It was a crazy night and a very different Christmas experience. Despite the bad situation, I felt blessed to be with my family during this time of distress. I also felt God’s presence who gave us the strength while cleaning the house. I was still able to sent a message to friends from Manila asking for their prayers. After a while, the mobile signal was already gone.

We slept past one in the morning of the following day. I was exhausted after collecting the water. Thankfully, the typhoon already passed by our house. We did not mind that there was no electricity yet nor mobile signal. It was as if we were stuck in an island and the most important thing is that we were all safe.

flooded_typhoon_rain_philippines.jpg

Upon waking up, the road was still flooded. We had an extra day off from work. It was time for me to reflect. I also got the chance to take pictures after the typhoon. Despite the calamity, God’s creation is still wonderful.

teacups_typhoon_nina

The gloomy weather was reflected on the glass and table.

broken_lamps_typhoon_Philippines
broken lamp post typhoon

dangling_lamp_post_typhoon_Philippines

We spent the rest of the day at home. My siblings and dad, both of whom are fond of watching, had an instant media fast. Meanwhile, I got to enjoy the usual things that I do since I am not dependent on the internet nor television.

radio_swiss_miss_typhoon_philippines
Swiss miss and the radio that my aunt was listening to
cozy_bed_sleep_typhoon_philippines
sulking in the bed!
book_reading_typhoon_rain_philippines
Re-reading this old book
notetaking_typhoon_Philippines
Documenting memories
reading_typhoon_rain_philippines
More reading materials! Science 101 experiments.
stamping_typhoon_Philippines
Stamps- Christmas themed

In the end, despite the bad situation, I enjoyed that day.

street_sunshine_after_the_rain_typhoon

After two days, we were already able to go outside. No more flood! Yay!

stray_dog_typhoon_Philippines.jpg

This dog is ready for a walk.

Stay inspired,

Jannel

 

One thought on “Monday musings: Sunshine after the rain

Leave a Reply

