Thoughts on Tuesdays: Take risks

I grew up in a conservative Chinese family. My parents would often blurt out that they always wanted to expand the business but cannot because they need to be hands on in the daily operations. Expanding the business means partnering with other people and letting go of control in some aspects. However restricting access result to restricting growth.

I kind of picked up this “play safe” mentality unknowingly and foregone opportunities accumulated over the years. I turned down my teacher’s invitation to join a math competition back in elementary because I was afraid that I will not get anything right. I did not join our university school paper because I was afraid that it will take up too much of my time. I did not join the debate society because I was afraid that people will judge my inability to express thoughts and monotonous voice. I was and still am afraid of a lot of things.

As I was reading The Entitlement Cure by John Townsend, I realized that I am living my life in a comfortable and predictable manner. I realized that I have not taken enough risks in order for me to learn new things. I also realized that having confidence is rooted from experience. When we are able to develop our talents, we are confident that we will do well and not the other way around. I was also able to understand what Jesus is trying to say in the Parable of three talents. When I first heard of it, I thought the servant who kept the talent did best because he safeguarded it. I thought he is being a good steward because he protected the money from unforeseen events.  I was shocked that Jesus didn’t meant that. Instead, He wants us to grow and cultivate not just our talents but the money He has entrusted us. How are we to do it? by taking risks. Of course, we need to take calculated risks. What I mean is that we study the pros and cons and ask help from other people who are experts in the field. Most importantly, we ask God for wisdom in the decisions that we are about to make.

I remembered in one of the books that I’ve read, the author mentioned that the biggest regret that you can have is not trying anything at all. We may fail but we can rise up. Cliche as it may sound, there’s always sunshine after the rain.

Stay posi,

Jannel

Leave a Reply

